Thermometer calibration at low temperatures


Thermometer calibration at low temperatures

 

You want to calibrate thermometers at extremely low temperatures? But the temperature range of the calibration baths and standardised procedures used is not enough for you? Then you are at the right place. We use boiling nitrogen to extend the temperature range. 

With the three calibration methods shown here, you can calibrate thermometers in the temperature range from -80 °C to -180 °C and at the fixed temperatures at -189 °C and -196 °C.


Ar

-189 °C

ITS-90 Calibration
to the triple point
of argon

 

 

LN2

-196 °C

Thermometer calibration with
liquid nitrogen as reference temperature

 

 

-80 °C to -180 °C

Thermometer calibration with
selectable calibration points in the nitrogen cryostat

 

 

With the boiling nitrogen we can:

  • Calibrate thermocouples and resistance thermometers in the nitrogen cryostat with freely selectable calibration temperatures between -80 °C and -180 °C.
  • use the boiling point of nitrogen and calibrate thermometers at -196 °C.
  • use the argon triple point at -189.3442 °C and perform a complete ITS-90 calibration in the temperature range from 0 °C to -189 °C.
    The fixed points used are: 

    • Water triple point 0.01 °C
    • Mercury triple point -38.8344 °C
    • Argon triple point -189.3442 °C

Technical background

The calibration of thermometers at extremely low temperatures is a technical challenge. Conventionally, calibration baths or temperature dry block calibrators are used to calibrate thermometers in the negative temperature range. However, these quickly reach their limits when it comes to cooling and are only used down to approx. -80 °C.

Calibration baths are cooled with compressors. For stable control of the calibration temperature, an electric heater works “against” the compressor, which always cools at maximum power. In addition, the calibration media used (such as silicone or ethanol) change their viscosity very strongly and absorb water from the ambient humidity. Both complicate the temperature control of the calibration baths. The lowest temperature that calibration baths with stable control can reach is about -80 °C. 

Temperature dry block calibrators are cooled with Peltier elements or sterling motors. These technologies are limited and can be used down to approx. -50 °C with Peltier elements or -100 °C with sterling motors.

To overcome these limitations, we use liquid nitrogen as a “cold source”. This enables us to extend the temperature range up to -196 °C when calibrating thermometers.

 

 

 

 

New digital archive Klasmeier Cloud: Calibration documents quickly and easily available

The new Klasmeier Cloud – the perfect archive for all calibration documents. From now on, our customers will find a QR code on all devices calibrated by Klasmeier, with which they can quickly and easily access our digital archive. Especially useful: In addition to all calibration documents, the contact details of the relevant contact person at Klasmeier are also always available there. So even five or more years from now, if you have any questions about your calibration product, you can find the information you need with just one click.

 

Questions about calibration?

Contact: Boris Kalb – b.kalb@klasmeier.com

Thermometer Kalibrierung bei niedrigen Temperaturen


Thermometer Kalibrierung bei niedrigen Temperaturen

 

Sie wollen Thermometer bei extrem niedrigen Temperaturen kalibrieren? Der Temperaturbereich der verwendeten Kalibrierbäder und standardisierten Verfahren reicht Ihnen aber nicht aus? Dann sind Sie hier richtig. Wir verwenden siedenden Stickstoff um den Temperaturbereich zu erweitern. 

Mit den hier gezeigten drei Kalibrierverfahren können Sie Thermometer im Temperaturbereich von -80 °C bis -180 °C und an den fixen Temperaturen bei -189 °C und -196 °C kalibrieren.


Ar

-189 °C

ITS-90 Kalibrierung
bis zum Tripelpunkt
von Argon

 

 

LN2

-196 °C

Thermometer Kalibrierung mit
flüssigem Stickstoff als Referenztemperatur

 

 

-80 °C bis -180 °C

Thermometer Kalibrierung mit
frei wählbaren Kalibrierpunkten im Stickstoff-Kryostaten

 

 

Mit dem siedenden Stickstoff können wir:

  • im Stickstoff-Kryostaten Thermoelemente und Widerstandsthermometer mit frei wählbaren Kalibriertemperaturen zwischen -80 °C und -180 °C kalibrieren.
  • den Siedepunkt von Stickstoff nutzen und Thermometer bei -196 °C kalibrieren.
  • den Argontripelpunkt bei -189,3442 °C in Betrieb nehmen und eine komplette ITS-90 Kalibrierung im Temperaturbereich von 0 °C bis -189 °C durchführen.
    Die verwendeten Fixpunkte sind: 

    • Wassertripelpunkt 0,01 °C
    • Quecksilbertripelpunkt -38,8344 °C
    • Argontripelpunkt -189,3442 °C

Technischer Hintergrund

Die Kalibrierung von Thermometern bei extrem niedrigen Temperaturen ist eine technische Herausforderung. Konventionell werden bei der Kalibrierung von Thermometern im negativen Temperaturbereich Kalibrierbäder oder Temperatur-Blockkalibratoren eingesetzt. Diese kommen jedoch beim Kühlen schnell an Ihre Grenzen und werden nur bis ca. -80 °C eingesetzt.

Kalibrierbäder werden mit Kompressoren gekühlt. Zur stabilen Regelung der Kalibriertemperatur arbeitet eine elektrische Heizung “gegen” den Kompressor, der immer mit maximaler Leistung kühlt. Zudem verändern die eingesetzten Kalibriermedien (wie z. B. Silikon oder Ethanol) ihre Viskosität sehr stark und nehmen Wasser aus der Umgebungsfeuchte auf. Beides erschwert die Temperatur-Regelung der Kalibrierbäder. Die niedrigste Temperatur, die Kalibrierbäder mit einer stabilen Regelung erreichen, liegt bei ca. -80 °C. 

Temperatur-Blockkalibratoren werden mit Peltier-Elementen oder Sterling-Motoren gekühlt. Diese Technologien sind limitiert und können bis ca. -50 °C mit Peltier-Elementen bzw. -100 °C mit Sterling-Motoren eingesetzt werden.

Um diese Einschränkungen zu überwinden, verwenden wir flüssigen Stickstoff als “Kältequelle”. Das versetzt uns in die Lage, den Temperaturbereich beim Kalibrieren von Thermometern auf bis zu -196 °C erweitern zu können.

 

Neues Digitalarchiv Klasmeier Cloud:
Kalibrierdokumente schnell und unkompliziert abrufbar

Die neue Klasmeier Cloud – das perfekte Ablagesystem für alle Kalibrierdokumente. Ab sofort finden unsere Kunden auf allen von Klasmeier kalibrierten Geräten einen QR-Code, mit dem sie schnell und unkompliziert in unser digitales Archiv gelangen.
Besonders praktisch: Neben allen Kalibrierdokumenten gibt es dort auch immer gleich die Kontaktdaten des jeweiligen Ansprechpartners bei Klasmeier dazu. So finden Sie auch noch in fünf oder mehr Jahren bei Fragen zu ihrem Kalibrierprodukt mit einem Klick die gewünschten Informationen.

 

 

Fragen zur Kalibrierung?

AnsprechpartnerBoris Kalb – b.kalb@klasmeier.com