Company portrait

The most accurate temperatures – measured in: Fulda

Klasmeier in Münsterfeld has been a synonym for the highest precision in calibration and measurement technology for over 35 years.

 

Did you know? Germany’s most accurate privately operated temperature calibration laboratory is located in Fulda.  This means that for many commercially available brand-name products – whether it is a clinical thermometer, a washing machine, an oven, the temperature display in the on-board computer of an aircraft or in the display of a car – there is a connection to Fulda, or more precisely to Klasmeier Kalibrier- und Messtechnik GmbH. Because with our services, it can be guaranteed that the temperature measured or displayed in the instrument also corresponds to the true temperature according to the national and international standard.

 

 

 

 

 

Measurements with chemical elements such as zinc,
Aluminium or Gallium

 

When you enter the bright and large laboratory of Klasmeier GmbH at Flemingstraße 12-14, the first thing you notice is the comfortably cool air: Here, the room temperature is kept at a constant 22°C to ensure optimal operation of the ultra-modern calibration equipment. The various calibrators are designed very differently and offer the right solution for every calibration job: there are dry block calibrators, calibration baths or calibration ovens – and measurements are done with very different chemical elements, from high-purity water to silver, mercury, zinc or tin to less well-known elements such as argon, gallium or indium.

 

 

 

 

 

 

In-house manufacture for eXacal precision thermometers

Directly opposite the laboratory is the in-house manufactory where eXacal precision thermometers are carefully handmade. “At some stage, we reached the point where we could no longer find any customised, accurate reference thermometers on the market for our measurements. So in 2015, with four years of development work, we started to produce thermometers ourselves that can be used for precise temperature measurements or as a laboratory standard in a temperature range from -200°C to 1200°C,” explains Managing Director Thomas Klasmeier.

 

 

 

[/content_block]

 

Wide customer base from industry and research

 

The graduate engineer took over the management from his father Peter Klasmeier five years ago. Since then, Thomas Klasmeier has continuously expanded the portfolio: In addition to sales including maintenance and service of calibration equipment, the family business now also offers calibration services as well as the manufacture of precision thermometers and training seminars. In addition to industrial companies from the automotive, aerospace and electronics sectors, customers also include research institutes and universities, all of which are happy to work with the precision experts from Fulda.

 

 

Company founded in 1986 by Peter Klasmeier

 

“It all started in 1986 when my father went into business for himself as an engineer and developed and sold customised calibration technologies for companies. Before that, he had been responsible for the development of thermometers at a larger company in Fulda. He had been concerned with the question of how precisely thermometers can really measure,” Thomas Klasmeier looks back on the birth of the Klasmeier company. At that time, the word “calibration” did not even exist: “At that time, the verification of whether the thermometer data actually corresponded to the temperature was carried out by so-called – Eichämter – , which no longer exist today. Since then, Klasmeier has continued to grow – and with it the number of employees, from a single office worker at the beginning to a 15-person team.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

 

 

 

Accredited and manufacturer-independent laboratory

 

“We have been leading the market in temperature calibrations for a long time, no one can do it as well as we can,” says the graduate engineer, not without pride. But what actually is a calibration? “In a calibration, we check the thermometer for its accuracy, for example with a higher-quality reference thermometer.” The Klasmeier laboratory then provides a calibration certificate with an accreditation symbol for this. “In our accredited and manufacturer-independent laboratory, we calibrate temperature standards with the smallest measurement uncertainties in the DAkkS. For this, we go through an expensive and complex accreditation procedure on a more or less permanent basis, which is valid for five years and has to be reviewed every 18 months. With this national accreditation, we also have the globally recognised accreditation of ILAC MRA, an international association of accreditation authorities,” adds the graduate engineer.

 

 

 


 

 

Comparison and fixed point calibrations with highest precision

 

“We perform a comparison calibration either in the temperature range from -196°C to 1200°C with highly accurate reference thermometers or a fixed-point calibration in a temperature range from -189°C to 961°C,” Thomas Klasmeier gives an idea of the secrets of thermodynamics. Fixed-point calibration? “Temperature fixed points are fixed, unchanging temperatures on which the temperature scale is based. Anders Celsius already did this in the Celsius scale and thereby defined that, for example, the temperatures at which water changes from a solid to a liquid or from a liquid to a gaseous are defined at 0°C and 100°C,” says Thomas Klasmeier. But such fixed points also exist for other chemical elements, for example for aluminium, which has a freezing point of precisely 660.323°C.

 

 

 

 

First provider in Germany for temperature seminars

 

“And for those who like it a bit more technical: in addition to temperature measurements with the two fixed points of melting and solidification, there are also so-called triple points, i.e. when three different states of physical aggregation are simultaneously present. Such measurements are then more precise, but of course also much more complex and cost-intensive. If we make a measurement with high-purity water using a triple point, another component must be added – the pressure, because in our standard atmosphere, water does not have the simultaneous state of liquid, gaseous and solid. This is only possible at 0.01°C and about 6 millibars,” explains the graduate engineer, who by the way does most of the training himself in the seminar room at Klasmeier GmbH. “The knowledge we teach here is so highly specific that it is not usually part of an engineering degree. Accordingly, the participants come not only from industry, but to a large part from research, for example from universities.” Klasmeier was the first provider in Germany to organise seminars in Fulda as early as 1994 – in the meantime, around 1500 participants have been able to receive their training certificate.

Die genauesten Temperaturen – gemessen in: Fulda

Klasmeier im Münsterfeld steht seit über 30 Jahren für höchste Präzision in der Kalibrier- und Messtechnik 

 

Schon gewusst? In Fulda befindet sich das genaueste privatgeführte Temperaturkalibrierlabor Deutschlands. Das bedeutet konkret: Für viele handelsübliche Markengeräte – sei es nun das Fieberthermometer, die Waschmaschine, der Backofen, die Temperaturanzeige im Bordcomputer eines Flugzeuges oder im Display eines Autos – gibt es eine Verbindung nach Fulda, genauer gesagt zur Klasmeier Kalibrier- und Messtechnik GmbH. Denn mit unseren Dienstleistungen kann sichergestellt werden, dass die im Gerät gemessene beziehungsweise angezeigte Temperatur auch der tatsächlichen Temperatur nach der nationalen und internationalen Norm entspricht.

 

 

 

 

 

Messungen mit chemischen Elementen wie Zink,
Aluminium oder Gallium

 

Wer das helle und geräumige Labor der Klasmeier GmbH in der Flemingstraße 12-14 betritt, nimmt als erstes die angenehm kühle Luft wahr: Hier wird die Raumtemperatur bei konstanten 22°C gehalten, um für eine optimale Funktion der hochmodernen Kalibriereinrichtungen zu sorgen. Die zahlreichen Kalibratoren sind ganz unterschiedlich konzipiert und bieten für jeden Kalibrierauftrag die richtige Lösung: Es gibt Blockkalibratoren, Kalibrierbäder oder Kalibrieröfen – und gemessen wird mit ganz verschiedenen chemischen Elementen, von hochreinem Wasser über Silber, Quecksilber, Zink oder Zinn bis hin zu weniger bekannten Elementen wie Argon, Gallium oder Indium.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hauseigene Manufaktur für eXacal Präzisionsthermometer

 

Gleich gegenüber dem Labor befindet sich die hauseigene Manufaktur, in der eXacal Präzisionsthermometer in sorgfältiger Handarbeit hergestellt werden. „Irgendwann sind wir an den Punkt gekommen, dass wir auf dem Markt keine kundenspezifisch genauen Referenzthermometer mehr für unsere Messungen finden konnten. Also haben wir 2015 mit vierjähriger Entwicklungsarbeit begonnen, selbst Thermometer herzustellen, die für präzise Temperaturmessungen oder als Labor-Normal in einem Temperaturbereich von -200°C bis 1200°C  verwendet werden können“, erklärt Geschäftsführer Thomas Klasmeier.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Breiter Kundenstamm aus Industrie und Forschung

 

Der Diplom-Ingenieur hat die Geschäftsführung vor fünf Jahren von seinem Vater Peter Klasmeier übernommen. Seitdem hat Thomas Klasmeier das Portfolio kontinuierlich erweitert: Neben dem Vertrieb inklusive Wartung und Service von Kalibriergeräten gehören heute auch der Kalibrierdienst sowie die Herstellung von Präzisions-Thermometern und Schulungsseminare zum Angebot des Familienbetriebes. Zu den Kunden zählen neben Industriebetrieben aus den Bereichen Automotive, Luftfahrt oder Elektronik auch Forschungsinstitute oder Hochschulen, die allesamt gerne auf die exakt arbeitenden Experten aus Fulda setzen.

 

 

 

Unternehmensgründung im Jahr 1986 durch Peter Klasmeier

 

„Angefangen hat alles 1986, als sich mein Vater als Ingenieur selbstständig gemacht und maßgeschneiderte Kalibrierungstechnologien für Unternehmen entwickelt und ausgeführt hat. Zuvor war er bei einer größeren Firma aus Fulda für die Entwicklung von Thermometern zuständig gewesen und hatte sich mit der Frage beschäftigt, wie präzise Thermometer eigentlich funktionieren“, blickt Thomas Klasmeier auf die Geburtsstunde der Firma Klasmeier zurück. Damals gab es den Begriff Kalibrieren noch gar nicht: „Die Überprüfung, ob die Thermometer-Angaben auch tatsächlich der Norm entsprechen, haben seinerzeit sogenannte staatliche Eichämter vorgenommen, die es heute in der Form gar nicht mehr gibt.“ Seither ist Klasmeier immer weiter gewachsen – und damit auch die Mitarbeiterzahl von anfänglich einer einzelnen Bürokraft zu einem 15-köpfigen Team.

 

 

 

Akkreditiertes und herstellerunabhängiges Labor

 

„Bei den Temperaturkalibrierungen sind wir längst bundesweit führend, das kann niemand so gut wie wir“, sagt der Diplom-Ingenieur nicht ohne Stolz. Doch was ist eigentlich eine Kalibrierung? „Vereinfacht gesagt, prüfen wir in einer Kalibrierung das betreffende Thermometer auf seine Genauigkeit, zum Beispiel mit einem höherwertigen Referenzthermometer.“ Dafür gibt es dann vom Klasmeier-Labor einen Kalibrierschein mit Akkreditierungssymbol. „In unserem akkreditierten und herstellerunabhängigen Labor kalibrieren wir Temperatur-Normale mit den kleinsten Messunsicherheiten im DAkkS – das steht für Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle. Wir durchlaufen dafür quasi permanent ein teures und aufwändiges Akkreditierungsverfahren, das fünf Jahre gilt und alle 18 Monate überprüft werden muss. Neben dieser nationalen Akkreditierung verfügen wir damit außerdem über die weltweit anerkannte Akkreditierung der ILAC MRA, einer internationalen Vereinigung von Akkreditierungsstellen“, ergänzt der Diplom-Ingenieur.

 

 

 

 


 

 

Vergleichs- und Fixpunktkalibrierungen mit höchster Präzision

 

„Wir nehmen entweder eine Vergleichskalibrierung im Temperaturbereich von -196°C bis 1200°C mit hochgenauen Referenzthermometern vor oder eine Fixpunktkalibrierung in einem Temperaturbereich von -189°C bis 961°C“, gibt Thomas Klasmeier einen Einblick in die Geheimnisse der Thermodynamik. Fixpunktkalibrierung? „Temperaturfixpunkte sind feste, unveränderliche Temperaturen, auf denen die Temperaturskala beruht. Das hat schon Anders Celsius in der Celsius-Skala gemacht und damit festgelegt, dass zum Beispiel die Temperaturen, bei denen Wasser vom festen in den flüssigen beziehungsweise vom flüssigen in den gasförmigen Zustand übergeht bei 0°C und 100°C liegen“, sagt Thomas Klasmeier. Solche Fixpunkte gibt es aber auch für andere chemische Elemente, zum Beispiel für Aluminium, dessen Erstarrungspunkt bei exakt 660,323°C liegt.

 

 

 

 

 

Erster Anbieter in Deutschland für Temperatur-Seminare

 

„Und wer es noch ein bisschen technischer mag: Neben den Temperaturmessungen mit den zwei Fixpunkten Schmelz- und Erstarrungspunkt gibt es auch noch so genannte Tripelpunkte, wenn also gleich drei verschiedene Aggregatzustände zur gleichen Zeit erreicht werden. Solche Messungen sind dann eben etwas genauer, natürlich auch deutlich aufwendiger und kostenintensiver. Wenn wir mit hochreinem Wasser eine Messung mittels Tripelpunkt vornehmen, muss entsprechend noch eine weitere Komponente hinzukommen – der Druck, denn in unserer normalen Atmosphäre gibt es bei Wasser nicht den gleichzeitigen Zustand von flüssig, gasförmig und fest. Dies gelingt nur bei 0,01°C und circa 6 Millibar“, erklärt der Diplom-Ingenieur, der übrigens selbst einen Großteil der Schulungen im Seminarraum der Klasmeier GmbH vornimmt. „Das Wissen, das wir hier vermitteln, ist so hochspezifisch, dass es in der Regel nicht Teil eines Ingenieur-Studiums ist. Entsprechend kommen die Teilnehmer nicht nur aus der Industrie, sondern zu einem Großteil aus der Forschung, zum Beispiel von Hochschulen.“ Bereits seit 1994 veranstaltet Klasmeier als erster Anbieter Deutschlands Seminare in Fulda – inzwischen konnten rund 1500 Teilnehmer ihre Schulungsurkunde in Empfang nehmen.